Friday, 30 January 2009

A New Season - by NUS Symphony Orchestra

A New Season – Celebrating 30 Melodious Years
by NUS Symphony Orchestra (NUSSO)
14 Mar 09 (Sat), University Cultural Centre, Hall, 8pm
$15 & $18

Join the NUS Symphony Orchestra for an evening stroll through the seasons, with a perfectly themed repertoire inspired by nature. Bringing the orchestra to new heights on its 30th anniversary is the premiere of a composition by homegrown talent Emily Koh, which is wholly inspired by Man’s relationship with our environment. Infusing interactive digital media into symphonic music, this specially commissioned work is guaranteed to stimulate the senses and elevate the audience experience.

Credit: Image taken from

More familiar are Smetana’s Die Moldau and excerpts from Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons. It is, however, Schumann’s “Spring” Symphony No. 1 that promises to be the highlight of this milestone concert – its fanfare signifying spring-awakening, with its longing for a lush springtime and the preparation for the new season.

This concert is part of the NUS Arts Festival 2009.

SMETANA The Moldau from "My Fatherland"
VIVALDI Selections from "The Four Season"
1. Autumn
2. Winter
SCHUMANN Symphony No. 1 in B-flat Major, Op. 38, "Spring"