Monday, 18 February 2013

NUS Symphony Orchestra presents 'Into the New World'

The National University of Singapore Symphony Orchestra (NUSSO) will be presenting the concert "Into the New World". This concert is part of the NUS Arts Festival 2013.

Details are as follow:

Into the New World
NUS Symphony Orchestra
10 Mar 2013 (Sun)
8.00 p.m.
University Cultural Centre, Hall
Tickets at $19 and $16


1) Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 (From the New World)
2) Chen Gang and He Zhanhao: Butterfly Lovers' Concerto
- featuring soloist Mr Foo Say Ming from the Singapore Symphony Orchestra
    and also Chinese instrumentalists on Sheng, Dizi and Yangqin.
3) Kodály: Háry János Suite
- featuring Ms Qu Jian Qing, Yangqin principal from the Singapore Chinese Orchestra.

About this concert:
"As our world becomes more and more globalized and migration increases, our identities as communities and individuals shift and change to the point where we are no longer sure of what defines us. Communities change as citizens have become more cosmopolitan and new migrants become influenced by their new surroundings and yet, the issues are not new.

Under the baton of Maestro Lim Soon Lee, the NUS Symphony Orchestra will explore the convictions of composers who have wrestled with this problem of cultural accommodation and preservation. The programme comprises Dvořák’s New World Symphony, Kodály’s Háry János Suite and Chen Gang and He Zhanhao’s Butterfly Lovers’ Violin Concerto. Award winning Singaporean violinist Foo Say Ming whose interpretation has been praised as accomplishing the fusion of Western and folk idioms will be featured in the concerto."

Please reserve your tickets from SISTIC now.

Queries about the Concert are welcome at

Facebook event page:

No comments: